Centre Keen on Every State Setting up SHRC

The Government of India and National Human Rights Commission(NHRC) are keen that every State sets up a State Human Rights Commission (SHRC). The Government and NHRC have been requesting all those States which have not yet constituted their State Commission to do so at the earliest. The following States have constituted State Human Rights Commission:-

1. Assam 2. Andhra Pradesh 3. Chhattisgarh 4. Himachal Pradesh 5. Jammu & Kashmir 6. Kerala 7. Madhya Pradesh 8. Maharashtra 9. Manipur 10. Orissa 11. Punjab 12. Rajasthan 13. Tamil Nadu 14. Uttar Pradesh 15. West Bengal 16. Karnataka 17. Bihar 18. Gujarat 19. Sikkim.

The following nine States have not constituted the State Human Rights Commissions:-

1. Arunachal Pradesh 2. Goa 3. Haryana 4. Jharkhand 5. Meghalaya 6. Mizoram 7. Nagaland 8. Tripura 9. Uttarakhand.

This was stated by the Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs, Shri Ajay Maken in written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha today.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s